My Northern Wisconsin

Covering Ashland, Iron, Lincoln, Oneida, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, and Vilas Counties

LEARN ABOUT MEREDITH HUECKMAN, PHILLIPS SCHOOL BOARD CANDIDATE

I am Meredith Hueckman, a mom to 7 children, ages 1 through 15, and they have all been raised in Phillips.  I have a vested interest in our Phillips school and community, and I want to help in any way that I can.  Each one of our children should have every educational opportunity possible to be able to grow in their unique gifts, talents, and abilities.  Therefore, I'm running for a seat on the Phillips School Board on April 4, 2023.  Our community is an exceptional place to raise kids, and we all want the best education for them.

Education is a passion of mine, and I have experience with many different forms of schooling.  My children have gone to school, been home-schooled, and have also used RVA virtual learning.  Before my husband, Scott, and I had children, I was a substitute teacher at Phillips Elementary School. Every individual child is a special blessing, and I have experienced firsthand the multiple ways in which children learn best.

Our government should serve our community, a lesson I learned as a former government reporter for a local newspaper.  I understand the importance of putting the community first and doing the right thing fiscally, as well as having a responsibility to give the next generation every opportunity possible for success.

Transparency and communication are key between elected officials and the community that they serve. That is something that I would like to bring to the table as your school board representative.

Additionally, for over a decade, Scott and I have added jobs and enterprise to the area as small business owners of Hueckman Auction and Sales.  I know the value and necessity of hard work, and how important it is to instill that value into our children.